Asia Cup 2023 | The Six Captains

Asia Cup

The Asia Cup 2023 edition will be an exciting contest as some of the finest international cricketers battle for the prestigious trophy. India and Sri Lanka have captains keen to add a second Asia Cup silverware. Meanwhile, Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan and Pakistan’s Babar Azam will be eyeing their first major trophy as skippers. Meanwhile, Afghanistan and Nepal skippers will be keen to spring a few surprises in the tournament.

Before we go in-depth about the Asia Cup 2023 captains, know more about the Asia Cup winners list 1984 to 2022.

Asia Cup 2023 Captains

Six teams will be part of the Asia Cup 2023. While India, Pakistan, and Nepal are placed in Group A, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan are drawn in Group B. Let us know which captains will lead the six teams in the Asia Cup 2023. The following is a list of captains that will lead their respective teams in the Asia Cup 2023:

1. Rohit Sharma (India)

India has won the most Asia Cups, winning the coveted trophy seven times. Rohit Sharma will lead India in 2023 and will look to take the Asia Cup winning tally to eight. The Hitman has won the Asia Cup once, in 2018. Will Rohit Sharma lead India to yet another Asia Cup title? It will depend on the availability of KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, and Jasprit Bumrah and whether the players can thrive under pressure.

Rohit Sharma ODI Captaincy Record:

Played: 27; Won:20; Lost:7

Will Rohit Sharma lift the title in the World Cup too? Learn more about ODI World Cup betting and place outright betting on an online gaming platform.

2. Babar Azam (Pakistan)

Babar Azam is a top batsman in all three formats. Pakistan fans will want the dashing batter to inspire the Pakistan team to its third Asia Cup title. The co-hosts will need to perform well as a team, especially their batting department, who will need to raise their game. Pakistan last won the Asia Cup in 2012 under the captainship of Misbah-ul-Haq.

Babar Azam ODI Captaincy Record:

Played: 26; Won:17;  Lost: 18; Tie: 1

3. Dasun Shanaka – Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka is the defending champion, and the team won the previous Asia Cup under the leadership of Dasun Shanaka. The Island nation, the co-host with Pakistan, won all their matches in the recently concluded 2023 World Cup Qualifiers. Shanaka and his men will be eying back-to-back Asia Cup titles, which will help them equal India’s record.

Dasun Shanaka ODI Captaincy Record:

Played: 33; Won:19; Lost: 13; No Result: 1

4. Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh)

Bangladesh is a spirited team and has been runner-up three times. The last time the Tigers made it to the Asia Cup final was in 2018 when they lost against India. Shakib Al Hasan will lead Bangladesh in the tournament and will look to grab their first-ever Asia Cup title.

Shakib Al Hasan ODI Captaincy Record:

Played: 50; Won:23; Lost: 26; No Result: 1

5. Hashmatullah Shahidi (Afghanistan)

Afghanistan is yet to make its mark in the Asia Cup tournament. The team will be led by the dynamic left-hand batter, Hashmatullah Shahidi. He will look to lead the Afghans leading from the front. Sri Lanka and Bangladesh will be the other two teams in Afghanistan’s group in Asia Cup 2023.

Hashmatullah Shahidi ODI Captaincy Record:

Played: 18; Won:11;  Lost: 6; No Result: 1

6. Rohit Paudel – Nepal

The 2023 edition of the Asia Cup will be the first time the Nepal team will participate in the prestigious tournament. Rohit Paudel, the captain, has been their top performer with the bat in recent years. Nepal is placed in a tough group, with India and Pakistan being the other two teams. Most people do not expect Nepal to win a match, which allows the team to play without pressure.

Rohit Paudel ODI Captaincy Record:

Played: 27; Won:17; Lost: 9; No Result: 1

Captains have plenty of responsibility on their shoulders and would be dreaming of winning the trophy on September 17 in Colombo.

Concluding Thoughts

India and Pakistan are strong teams and will look to grab yet another Asia Cup trophy. That makes Rohit Sharma and Babar Azam favourites to win the Asia Cup 2023. Given the recent form of teams, it won’t be surprising if Rohit Sharma leads the Indian team to its eighth Asia Cup title.

Leave a Reply